Vindonissa Professorship for the Archaeology of the Roman Provinces

The Vindonissa Professorship for the Archaeology of the Roman Provinces is supported by the Canton of Aargau together with the University of Basel. The task of the professorship is to advance interdisciplinary basic research by processing excavations in Roman sites in the Canton of Aargau.

Organizationally, the Vindonissa Professorship for the Archaeology of the Roman Provinces is affiliated with the subject area of European Archaeology of the Department of Ancient Civilizations.

In the sense of "Integrative Archaeology", the Vindonissa Professorship for the Archaeology of the Roman Provinces not only works closely with the other subjects of Ancient Civilizations, but also with the neighboring scientific disciplines represented at the IPNA (Archaeobotany, Archaeozoology, Anthropology, Dendrology, Geoarchaeology, Palynology).

The most important partners of the Vindonissa Professorship for the Archaeology of the Roman Provinces in teaching and research are - among numerous other cooperation partners in Switzerland and abroad - the Cantonal Archaeology of Aargau and the Roman city of Augusta Raurica.

/ News, Research, Medienpräsenz

Neuer Glanz für über 2000-jährigen Römerturm in Filzbach GL

/ News, Research, Medienpräsenz

Neues Amphitheater in Augusta Raurica entdeckt

/ News, Research, Medienpräsenz

Römische Artefakte – 2000 Jahre altes Kriegsmaterial in Graubünden entdeckt

/ News, Research

Die ältesten namentlich bekannten Baslerinnen sind Römerinnen!

/ News, Research

Die Basler Fleckfieber-Epidemie von 1814

No news available.

Courses

The courses offered by the Vindonissa Professorship for the Archaeology of the Roman Provinces are integrated into the Bachelor of Studies of Ancient Civilizations (focus European Archaeology) and the Master of European Archaeology.

The courses can be found on the website of the subject area of European Archaeology and in the course catalog.

Related links

Doktorandinnen vor Laptop

Information about the doctorate of the Vindonissa Professorship for the Archaeology of the Roman Provinces

Vindonissa-Professur für Provinzialrömische Archäologie

Die Vindonissa-Professur für Provinzialrömische Archäologie wird vom Kanton Aargau gemeinsam mit der Universität Basel getragen. Aufgabe der Professur ist die interdisziplinäre Grundlagenforschung durch Aufarbeitung von Ausgrabungen in römischen Fundstellen im Kanton Aargau voranzutreiben.

Organisatorisch angegliedert ist die Vindonissa-Professur dem Fachbereich Ur- und Frühgeschichtliche und Provinzialrömische Archäologie des Departements Altertumswissenschaften.

Im Sinne einer "Integrativen Archäologie" arbeitet die Vindonissa-Professur nicht nur eng mit den anderen altertumswissenschaftlichen Fächern zusammen, sondern auch mit den am IPNA vertretenen naturwissenschaftlichen Nachbardisziplinen (Archäobotanik, Archäozoologie, Anthropologie, Dendrologie, Geoarchäologie, Palynologie).

Wichtigste Partner der Vindonissa-Professur in Lehre und Forschung sind – neben zahlreichen anderen Kooperationspartnern im In- und Ausland – die Kantonsarchäologie Aargau und die Römerstadt Augusta Raurica.

Lehrveranstaltungen

Das Lehrangebot der Vindonissa-Professur ist in den Bachelor Altertumswissenschaften (Schwerpunkt UFG & PRA) und in den Master Ur- und Frühgeschichtliche und Provinzialrömische Archäologie integriert.

Die Lehrveranstaltungen sind auf der Website des Fachbereichs Ur- und Frühgeschichtliche und Provinzialrömische Archäologie und im Vorlesungsverzeichnis zu finden.